Are You a Legal Professional?

Utah Workers' Compensation Laws

Whether you work in a Salt Lake City high-rise or in vast Temple Square, most Utahans spend the majority of their week at work. This leaves ample opportunity for work-related injuries and illnesses. For this reason, Utah requires employers to carry workers' compensation insurance, which provides medical and disability benefits regardless of fault. In exchange for these benefits, the employee gives up their right to sue the employer. If you've suffered a work-related injury or illness in Utah, you should know your rights and responsibilities for filing a workers' compensation claim.

The following table lists important aspects of Utah's workers' comp laws, including benefits and crucial deadlines.

Important Deadlines
Some Types of Benefits
  • Medical benefits: all reasonable and necessary medical expenses from authorized providers (Sec. 34A-2-417, 34A-2-418)
  • Temporary partial disability: to compensate for temporary inability to work at full capacity; paid at two-thirds of employee's average weekly wage (Sec. 34A-2-410 et seq.)
  • Permanent total disability: payment where employee is unable to engage in gainful employment (Sec. 34A-2-413)
  • Vocational rehabilitation: services to help injured workers return to work (Sec. 34A-2-413.5)
  • Death benefits: payments to surviving dependent(s) and up to $9,000 in funeral expenses if employee dies from work-related injury or illness (Sec. 34A-2-414, 34A-2-418, R612-200-6)
Employer Rights & Obligations

Who and What is Covered by Workers' Compensation?

Every employer in Utah must purchase workers' comp insurance, though there are a few exceptions, including independent contractors and sole proprietors. And while injuries are covered regardless of fault, disability compensation (but not medical benefits) may be barred or reduced if the injury was the result of the employee's intoxication or willful misconduct.

I'm Hurt: Now What?

After an accident, you should seek medical attention for your injuries and notify your employer right away. Once you've sent notice to your employer, they must file a report with their insurance company within seven days. Regarding medical care, if the employer or insurer has notified you of an existing "preferred provider organization" (PPO), then you must go there for the initial medical appointment, but you can change providers once after that. The insurance company normally has 21 days to approve or deny your claim.

What if My Claim Is Denied or Challenged?

If your claim is denied or you have a dispute with the insurance company, you have options, including the following:

  • Try to resolve any issues directly with the insurance company; or
  • Request a hearing with the Adjudication Division of the Labor Commission

You may represent yourself throughout this process, but many claimants choose to have an attorney help with following procedures, preparing evidence, and representing you against the insurance company's attorneys.

Injured on the Job? Receive a Free Claim Review from a Utah Attorney

Unfortunately, workers' compensation hearings and procedures can be complicated and time-consuming, adding to the pain of your injury. If you don't stick to the rules, your benefits could be reduced or barred altogether. Learn more about these requirements and your potential benefits by receiving a free claim evaluation from a local attorney who has experience with Utah's workers' compensation laws.

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)