Virginia Cocaine Laws
Cocaine is an illegal substance in all states, although state governments vary widely in how they prosecute drug crimes in general. Virginia classifies cocaine as a Schedule II drug (heroin is Schedule I), which carries a jail sentence of up to one year and/or a $2,500 fine for simple possession. The sale of cocaine carries much harsher sentences -- 20 years to life in prison for the sale of more than 5 kilograms of cocaine.
The basics of Virginia cocaine laws, including crime classifications and sentences, are listed in the following chart. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for related articles.
|Code Section||18.2-247; 54.1-3448|
|Possession||Any amount: Class 5 felony (up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine)
|Sale||5-40 yrs. and up to $500,000 if defendant proves he gave drug (1) not for profit; (2) not to an inmate, or (3) not for recipient to become addicted, then Class 5 felony; "Drug kingpin" if over 5 kg.: up to $1,000,000 and 20 yrs. to life with 20 yrs. mandatory; Subsequent offense: at court or jury's discretion, life or not less than 5 yrs. and up to $500,000; Sale to minor or within 1000 ft. of school: stricter penalties|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Virginia drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Virginia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Virginia Cocaine Laws: Related Resources