Virginia Heroin Laws
Heroin and its related opiates (such as morphine, opium, and synthetic opioids) are strictly illegal under U.S. and state laws. Heroin is classified as a Schedule I drug under Virginia law, where simple possession can result in a 12-month jail sentence and/or $2,500 fine. First-time offenders may be eligible for the state's drug abatement program, which provides treatment services and supervised probation instead of incarceration.
The main classifications and penalties for Virginia's heroin laws are listed in the following chart. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for related articles and resources.
|Code Section||54.1-3445; 18.2-247|
|Possession||Any amount: Class 5 felony (up to 12 months in jail and/or $2,500 fine)
|Sale||5-40 yrs. and up to $500,000; If defendant proves he gave drug (1) not for profit, (2) not to an inmate, or (3) not for recipient to become addicted, then Class 5 felony; "Drug kingpin" if over 1 kg.: up to $1,000,000 and 20 yrs.-life (20 mandatory) Subsequent offense: at court or jury's discretion, subsequent offense 5 yrs. to life and/or $500,000; Sale to minor or within 1000 ft. of school: stricter penalties|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Virginia drug crimes attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Virginia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Virginia Heroin Laws: Related Resources