Virginia Homestead Laws
Homestead protection laws are intended to prevent people from being kicked out of their homes in the event of a drastic change in economic stature. State homestead laws allow property owners to delcare a portion of their real estate as a "homestead," and therefore protected from creditors. Virginia homestead laws allow residents to designate up to $5,000 worth of real estate as a homestead, plus $500 for each dependent.
General information about Virginia homestead laws is listed below. See Bankruptcy Exemptions: Chapter 7 to learn more about homestead protections and other exemptions.
|Max. Property Value That May Be Designated 'Homestead'||$5,000 plus if support dependent, then $500 for each dependent|
|Maximum Acreage (Urban)||-|
|Maximum Acreage (Rural)||-|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Virginia real estate attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Virginia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Virginia Homestead Laws: Related Resources