Virginia Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Regulation of leases and rental agreements happens at the state level, where laws determine maximum security deposits and other rules pertaining to the tenant/landlord relationship. In Virginia, security deposits may not be more than two months rent and must be returned within 30 days of lease termination (minus any amount needed for cleaning or repairs). Discrimination on the basis of familial status (in addition to federal protections) is strictly prohibited.
The basics of Virginia's lease and rental agreement laws are listed in the following table. See FindLaw's Leases and Rental Agreements section to learn more.
|Code Section||55-248.15:1; 36-96.3|
|Terms of Leases||Holdover converts to month-to-month or any lesser term|
|Deposits||Limit 2 months rent; interest on deposit held longer than 13 months required at rate equal to the Federal Reserve Board discount rate accrued every 6 months; deposit must be returned within 30 days of termination|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, elderliness, or familial status; special provisions for housing for elderly|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||Yes|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Virginia landlord-tenant attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Virginia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Virginia Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: Related Resources