Virginia Marriage License Laws

If you want to get married in Virginia, you'll have to get a marriage license first. Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Virginia marriage license .

You and your future partner both have to appear at the clerk's office. These offices are usually located in the county circuit court. Next, you'll fill out an application, sign it, and pay a license fee. There isn't a waiting period to get married.

If either person was previously married, he or she must show certified documents on how previous marriage ended such as divorce, annulment, or death.

Also, you don't have to have a physical examination or get a blood test to receive a marriage license in the Commonwealth.

The following table highlights the main provisions of Virginia's marriage laws. See Marriage Laws Overview, Prenuptial Agreements, Tips for Marriage, and Marriage FAQs for more information.

Code Section Virginia Code of Domestic Relations, Title 20
Where to Obtain a License A marriage license in Virginia is issued by the clerk or his/her deputy clerk of a circuit court in any county or city in the Commonwealth of Virginia
Age Requirements

Be at least 16 years old with parent or guardian permission. This may be done in person by the parent or legal guardian or by written consent properly sworn to before a notary public. Special provisions are made in Virginia law to allow marriage for under age parties when the female is pregnant and for situations in which under age applicants have no parent or legal guardian or 18 years old without permission

Residency Requirement

None

Identification Requirements
  • Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
  • Proof of your residency.
  • Your social security card or social security number.
Same Sex Marriage Yes
Blood Test Requirement

No

Fees Varies depending on county, but cannot exceed $50.
How Long is the License Valid? 60 days from the date of issuance.
Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony? A minister of any religious denomination must be authorized by a circuit court. In addition, the court in each city and county has appointed persons who are eligible to perform civil marriage ceremonies
Prior Marriage? If you've been married before, you'll need to present to the court your divorce decree.
Waiting Period None
Where to Request Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree Department of Public Health, Office of Vital Records
Witnesses None required.

Because marriage laws can sometimes get complicated, it may also be a good idea to consult an experienced family law attorney if you have questions about your specific situation.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.