Are You a Legal Professional?

West Virginia Marriage Age Requirements Laws

The excitement over marriage can begin at any early age. (Too young, probably, for some parents.) So what are the Mountain State laws regarding how old you have to be to get married? That will generally depend on whether you have your parents’ permission to get hitched or not. Here's a quick introduction to the marriage age requirements in West Virginia.

State Marriage Age Laws

State marriage age requirements can vary, but most states place the minimum age to get married without parental consent at 18 years old. West Virginia does the same, but allows minors aged 16 and up to marry with their parents’ permission. If both parents are alive and living together at the time of the application, both parents must sign their consent.

Marriage Age Statutes in West Virginia

The details of West Virginia’s marriage age laws are listed below.

Code Section

West Virginia Code 48-2-301: Age of Consent for Marriage

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

Male: 16; Female: 16

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

Male: 18; Female: 18

Comments

Minors under 16 may obtain license with parental consent and court order.

Marriage Requirements

West Virginia’s age restrictions aren’t the only legal hurdles couples must clear in order to have a valid marriage. Couples must also meet the technical marriage requirements and obtain a certified marriage license. West Virginia marriage license applications require the following information:

  • Applicants’ full names (First, Middle and Last), residences (City, county and state), and dates of birth
  • Valid Identification
  • Social Security Numbers
  • (If Married previously, information of previous marriage dissolution)
  • Highest level of education completed
  • Parents’ full names (First, Middle and Maiden), and places of birth
  • (If either applicant is under eighteen (18), the name of parent or consenting guardian)

West Virginia has no residency requirements or waiting periods for marriage licenses. Marriage license fees are generally $56, but can be reduced to $36 with proof completion for a premarital education course. You can contact your local county clerk for additional details and requirements.

More Resources for Marriage Age Requirements Laws in West Virginia

Getting married is a serious decision, both emotionally and legally. And state marriage laws can vary, depending on where you live. FindLaw's section on Getting Married can provide you with additional articles and resources on this topic. You can also consult with a West Virginia family law attorney in your area if you would like legal help regarding a marriage matter.

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)