Wisconsin Adoption Laws
|Code Section||48.81, et seq.; 882.04; 808.04(7); No|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person minor; adult|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||No child's consent required; however, minors 12 and older must attend hearing unless court orders otherwise.|
|Who May Adopt||Unmarried adult, husband and wife jointly, spouse of minor's parent may adopt minor. Must be Wisconsin residents and (if practicable and if requested by birth parent) of same religion as adoptee's natural parents. Any resident adult may adopt any other adult.|
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||6 months|
|State Agency/Court||Department of Health & Social Services/Circuit|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||40 days|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Adoption Laws: