Are You a Legal Professional?

Wyoming Workers' Compensation Laws

Wyoming may be known the world over for Yellowstone National Park; but as a local, you know that this natural mecca is home to some of the hardest workers around. Whether you prefer to spend your free time horseback riding, skiing, hiking, or simply basking in the natural glow of the Equality State, this Western state has something to offer everyone. But if you are injured at work, Wyoming workers' compensation laws require your employer to provide you with the benefits you need to recover and get back in your stirrups as quickly as possible.

The table and accompanying explanations below contain important aspects of Wyoming workers' comp laws.

Statute Section

§27‑1‑101, et seq.

Filing Time Limits

§27‑14‑502(a)

  • Notice to employer: 72 hours
  • Notice to Workers' Compensation Division: 10 days

§27‑14‑503

  • 1 year to file a claim in most cases

Benefit Time Limits

§27‑14‑404(d)

  • Waiting Period: 3 days
  • Retroactive after: 8 days

Mental Injury Coverage

  • Limited (27‑14‑102(xi)(J))

Choice of Doctor

  • Yes (27‑14‑401)

Coverage

Most employers in Wyoming are required to carry workers' compensation insurance to protect their employees. Some employees are exempt from this requirement, including domestic, federal, and farm employees. Injuries and occupational diseases which arise in the course and scope of employment are typically covered. Mental injury is generally not covered unless it is caused by a compensable physical injury. If your workers' comp insurance policy does cover your mental injury claim, it likely will terminate within six months after the underlying physical injury reaches maximum improvement.

Benefits

Wyoming offers wage replacement benefits, medical treatment, and vocational rehabilitation benefits. You are entitled to medical treatment that is reasonable and necessary. Once your doctor releases you to work light or modified duty, you must accept any offer of employment which complies with your doctor's orders or reduction of your wage replacement benefits. If you are unable to return to your prior occupation because of your disability, vocational rehabilitation is available to assist you in transitioning to a new occupation. If your loved one died due to a workplace injury or occupational disease, you may be entitled to death benefits.

Dispute Resolution

If your claim is denied, you may request a hearing before a hearing examiner by filing a written request within 15 days after the Division mails the notice of the final determination. While you are waiting for the hearing and appeal decision, you may apply for an interim benefit award. At the hearing, you or your attorney will have the opportunity to present evidence supporting your position. This evidence may be in the form of witness testimony, such as testimony from your care provider proving the extent of your disability. Or, it may be in the form of documentation, for instance, your wage stubs proving your average weekly wages.

Obtain a Free Claim Review from a Wyoming Attorney

Workplace injuries and occupational diseases can result in wages lost due to time away from work, medical bills, and other financial hardships. The no-fault system can be confusing, and some workers are surprised to learn that workers' comp typically covers injuries accidentally caused by workers. If you were injured at work and need skilled legal assistance with filing a workers' comp claim, get a free claim review from a Wyoming workers' compensation attorney.

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)