Domestic violence is a serious problem across the country. Alabama courts address domestic violence by providing victims a legal way to prevent further abuse. Although a protection order is, in a literal sense, nothing but a piece of paper, it provides the protected person the ability to call the police if an abuser violates the order. The abuser will then be arrested, tried for violating the order, and probably sent to jail for a short time, thus hopefully preventing future harm.
The table below details the main aspects of Alabama protection order laws.
|Code Sections||Alabama Code Title 30: Marital and Domestic Relations, Chapters 5: Protection From Abuse Act, 5A: Family Violence Protection Order Enforcement Act, and 5B: Uniform Interstate Enforcement of Domestic Violence Protection Orders Act|
|Activity Addressed by Protection Order||The court can include any of the following provisions, as needed, in a protection order:
|Who Can Apply for an Order?||An adult for themselves or another person prevented by physical or mental incapacities or on behalf of minor children.|
|Who's Protected by the Order?||The order protects the victim, his or her minor children, and any other close family or household members that may be living with the victim or were also threatened by the abuser due to their relationship with the victim (such as his or her aging mother), etc. Note that pets are covered on protection orders in 29 states, D.C., and Puerto Rico, but they aren't included in Alabama protection orders. This is because abusers frequently harm or kill pets to upset the victim and/or his or her kids.|
|Duration of Order||The final protection order or consent agreement is for one year or less, unless the court expressly orders it for a longer time. The protected party can return to court to request the protection order be amended and extended for another year or more, if he or she can show a reason it needs to be extended.|
|Penalty for a Violation of Order||Willfully violating a protection order is a Class A misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,000. A second conviction will be punished by a minimum of 48 hours of continuous imprisonment. A third or subsequent conviction will be punished by a minimum of 30 days in jail. Violating the protection order by committing an act of abuse (assault, child abuse, harassment, sexual abuse, stalking, theft, trespassing, unlawful imprisonment, etc.) will be punished as a Class A misdemeanor. For a second conviction, the minimum jail sentence is 30 days. For a third or subsequent conviction, the minimum jail time is 120 days. Additionally, a person can be found in civil contempt of court for not following the order.|
|Can Fees Be Waived?||Yes, if the victim can show that he or she has inadequate funds to pay for the protection order legal costs.|
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement||A copy of the protection order is issued to law enforcement officials with jurisdiction to enforce the order or agreement. Also, a protection order is effective even if the victim moves to a new state because all states will enforce valid protection orders from any other state.|
If your spouse, partner, or lover is hurting you, please reach out to the Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-650-6522 for help. If you've been abused and need a protection order, contact an experienced Alabama family law attorney or your local legal aid organization for help requesting one.
Note: Because state laws change constantly, it's important to verify the laws you're researching by conducting your own legal research or contacting a knowledgeable Alabama attorney.
Research the Law
Questions About Protective Orders? An Attorney Can Help
Violating an Alabama protective order is not something to take lightly because you can risk jail time and fines. If you are facing these charges, you should consult with a criminal defense attorney who can compile evidence and mount a solid defense on your behalf. GEt started today and contact an Alabama criminal defense attorney in your area.
Contact a qualified attorney.