Alaska Adoption Laws
Adoption is regulated and governed at the state level, although state adoption laws are fairly similar to one another. These laws determine the specific requirements (and restrictions) for adoptive parents, who may be adopted, residency requirements, and other details.
The majority of states allow children above a certain age to voice their support or opposition to the adoption. In addition, most states require what is called a "home residency" before the adoption is finalized, which is intended to ease the transition for all parties involved. The home residency usually lasts for about six months and helps to make sure the child is in a safe and nurturing environment.
Alaska Adoption Laws at a Glance
As is the case in most states, Alaska law allows any person to be adopted (even adults) but those 10 and older must consent to the adoption in most cases. While Alaska requires a home residency process prior to the finalization of the adoption, no exact period of time is indicated in the statute. See the Alaska Office of Children's Services Adoption & Guardianship Web site to learn more about the adoption process and to view profiles of children in need of permanent homes.
The following table lists additional details of adoption laws in Alaska. See FindLaw's Adoption section for more articles and resources.
|Code Section||25.23.010 to 25.23.240; Yes|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||10 years and older unless court dispenses with minor's consent in minor's best interest|
|Who May Adopt||Husband and wife together; unmarried adult, including father or mother of person to be adopted; married person without other spouse joining, if other spouse is not person to be adopted, and other person is parent of adoptee and consents to adoption or consent is excused by court or spouses are legally separated.|
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||Yes, but no specified length of time required|
|State Agency/Court||Health & Social Services/Superior, Juvenile Division|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||1 year|
Note: State laws may change at any time through the enactment of newly passed laws, decisions in higher courts, and other means. You may wnat to contact an Alaska adoption law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Alaska Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Alaska Adoption Laws: Related Resources
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.