Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Alaska Gun Control Laws

Gun control is a hotly debated topic in the United States, pitting impassioned defenses of the Second Amendment against public safety concerns. Most gun control laws originate at the state level, but there are some federal laws that regulate gun purchases and ownership. Some states require gun buyers to wait a certain period of time before taking ownership of a gun, during which a background check is conducted. Other states have as few restrictions as possible.

Alaska Gun Control Laws at a Glance

Alaska's gun laws are generally less restrictive than those of many other states. For example, the state of Alaska does not require a waiting period for gun buyers, but instant background checks are required for most purchases.

Additional details of Alaska's gun control laws are listed below. See Gun Laws for related information.

Relevant Statutes (Laws)

Alaska Statutes Title 11. Criminal Law Section 11.61

Illegal Arms

You can't possess the following firearms in Alaska unless you have a federal permit.

  • A device made or adapted to muffle the report of a firearm
  • A fully automatic firearm
  • A rifle with a barrel less than 16 inches
  • A shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches or firearm made from a rifle or shotgun which, as modified, has an overall length of less than 26 inches

Possession, sale, transfer, or manufacture of the above firearms is illegal.

Waiting Period

None

Who May Not Own

In addition to the Federal law prohibitions, you can't own a gun in Alaska if you are:
  • Under 21 years old
  • Have a felony conviction unless:
    • You received a pardon,
    • The conviction has been set aside, or
    • It has been 10 years since an unconditional discharge
  • An adjudicated delinquent minor convicted for conduct constituting a felony if committed by an adult

License Required?

No

Concealed Carry License Required?

No

Open Carried Allowed?

Yes

Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License

You don't need a license to carry a concealed weapon in Alaska. But to carry a concealed handgun you must:
  • Be at least 21 years old
  • If approached by police, immediately notify them of the fact you are carrying a weapon and follow their directions to secure the weapon
  • Not be convicted of a felony (with some exceptions)

Machine Gun Laws

It's illegal to own a machine gun in Alaska unless you can show it is legally registered in compliance with federal laws.

Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession

Illegal firearm possession is considered a:

  • Class C felony if a person:
    • Possesses a weapon after a felony conviction
    • Sells/transfers a weapon to a person whose mental condition is substantially impaired due to intoxication
    • Sells a weapon to a person with a felony
    • Sells/possesses/manufactures a prohibited weapon
  • Class A misdemeanor if a person sells a firearm to another person under 18 years of age
  • Class B misdemeanor if an intoxicated person knowingly possesses a loaded firearm in any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises

Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds

  • 11.61.195(a)(2)(A): It is a felony to possess a firearm on or near school grounds after a felony conviction.
  • 11.61.220(a)(4)(A): It is a misdemeanor to possess a firearm on the grounds of a licensed child care facility
  • 11.61.210: It is a Class A misdemeanor if someone knowingly possesses a deadly weapon on school grounds.

Note: State laws are always changing, usually when newly signed legislation is enacted or through the decisions of higher courts. While we strive to ensure the accuracy of these pages, you also may want to contact an Alaska criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related Resources

Charged With a Gun Crime in Alaska?

If you face state or federal gun charges, protect yourself and your right to own a firearm by calling a local criminal defense attorney — you can find a qualified attorney through our directory.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options