Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Alaska Indecent Exposure Laws

Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors.

Alaska's indecent exposure laws provide offenders with a bite that's colder than the state's frigid air. People in Alaska are charged with indecent exposure if they purposely flash their genitals in complete disregard to the offensive nature of the act. The degree of the crime hinges on the ages of the people exposed to the act. This is a quick summary of the indecent exposure laws in Alaska.

Multiple Degrees of Alaska Indecent Exposure

In Alaska, there are two degrees of indecent exposure. A crime elevates to the first degree under Alaska indecent exposure laws if the offender performs the act before a person under the age of 16, and the offender either possesses a previous indecent exposure conviction or purposefully masturbates during the act.

The following table outlines the specifics of Alaska's indecent exposure laws.

Code Sections

Alaska Stat. § 11.41.458 Indecent Exposure in the First Degree,

Alaska Stat. § 11.41.460 Indecent Exposure in the Second Degree

What's Prohibited?

First Degree

"Indecent exposure in the first degree" occurs by knowingly exposing your genitals to a person under the age of 16 with reckless disregard to the offensive nature of the act and you either:

  • Knowingly masturbated while performing the indecent exposure act, or

  • You were previously convicted of an indecent exposure crime in Alaska or another state.

Second Degree

"Indecent exposure in the first degree" occurs by knowingly exposing your genitals with reckless disregard to the offensive nature of the act to a person of any age.

Penalty

First Degree

Indecent exposure in the first degree is a class C felony. This type of felony is punishable by up to five years in prison, a fine of up to $50,000, or both.

Second Degree

Victim(s) Under 16:

If the victim is under the age of 16, Alaska indecent exposure laws classify the crime as a class A misdemeanor. This is punishable by up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

Victim(s)16 and up:

If the victim is 16 or older, Alaska classifies the crime as class B misdemeanor. Under Alaska criminal laws, a class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days in prison, a fine of up to $2,000 dollars, or both

Second Offenders

If the offender exposes his genitals to someone under the age of 16 and has either been previously convicted of any degree of indecent exposure in Alaska or previously convicted of a similar statute in another state, then the degree of the crime is raised to first degree.

If you have been charged with indecent exposure and would like legal assistance regarding your legal rights, you can contact an Alaska criminal defense attorney through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on Indecent Exposure and other related sex crimes for more articles and information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.