Arizona Cocaine Laws
Cocaine and other hard drugs are illegal in all states, and Arizona cocaine laws tend to be tougher on drug traffickers. Arizona defendants charged with possession may have other options (including Drug Courts) if it's their first non-violent offense. Selling cocaine to a minor and/or in a drug-free school zone can add a year to a potential jail sentence.
Arizona Drug Courts are voluntary programs for offenders charged with or convicted of drug and drug-related crimes. Serving as an alternative to regular criminal adjudication, Drug Court teams typically consist of a judge, prosecutor, defense attorney, probation officer, and a treatment provider working together to design appropriate treatment and counseling. They provide incentives and sanctions to reduce the offender’s dependency on illicit drugs and repeat offenses.
The Arizona Judicial Branch states that eligibility for Drug Court varies depending on the requirements and restrictions of the particular Arizona Superior Court in which the program operates. Defendants typically have a demonstrated drug addiction that has put them in contact with law enforcement and the judicial system. In most cases, the underlying offense must be of a non-violent, non-sexual nature, and the offender must not have committed a prior violent or sexual offense.
If you have been charged with the sale, trafficking, or possession of cocaine in Arizona, you should contact a licensed criminal defense attorney with experience with drug cases. Your attorney may be able to reduce the sentence, have evidence thrown out, or otherwise provide the most favorable outcome possible.
The following chart provides some details of Arizona's cocaine laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for additional information.
|Code Section||13-3401, et seq.; 36-2501, et seq.|
|Possession||Class 4 felony, but for one not previously convicted of felony, court can make it Class 1 misdemeanor; Fine of not less than $2000 or 3 times the value of substance, whichever is greater|
|Sale||Class 3 felony; Fine of greater of 3 times value of drugs or $2000; Selling to minors: Class 2 felony and fine of $2000 or 3 times value, whatever is greater. In drug-free school zone: add 1 yr. to sentence and fine for selling to minors|
|Trafficking||Class 2 felony (transport/import); Class 2 felony (manufacture)|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- please contact an Arizona criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Arizona Criminal Laws Related Resources:
- Arizona Legal Research
- Arizona Revised Statutes
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
- Drug Possession Overview
- Drug Trafficking / Distribution
Charged with a Drug Crime? Get Professional Legal Help Today
Arizona lawmakers treat drug crimes pretty seriously and a conviction on cocaine charges could land you in prison. While you may have a valid defense, you may not know it if you don't have a experienced attorney on your side who knows Arizona law. Don't leave your freedom up to chance; contact an Arizona criminal defense lawyer today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.