Arkansas Marriage and Blood Test Requirements
Planning the wedding of your dreams may be fun, but figuring out marriage requirements may not be so fun. The state of Arkansas has a few requirements that must be met in order to obtain a marriage license.
In Arkansas, you must be 18 years of age or older (or have the consent of a parent or legal guardian at 17) and pay a license fee, the cost of which may vary depending upon the county. There are no residency or blood test requirements. This is a quick summary of Arkansas marriage license and blood test requirements.
Arkansas Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements
The following table outlines marriage license and blood test requirements in Arkansas.
|Code Sections||ARK. CODE ANN. § 9-11-101 et seq.|
|Where to Obtain a License||
County Clerk Office
18 or older with proof of age.
It is permissible for 17-year-olds to be married with parental consent, but the parent's consent may be voided by court order if clear and convincing evidence shows that the parent is not fit to make such decisions and the marriage is contrary to the child's best interests.
No one under 17 is permitted to marry.
Proof of name and age.
Birth certificate may be requested for persons marrying at age 17.
|Blood Test Requirement||No.|
|Other Requirements||Must be sober at the time of marriage (i.e. free from the influence of any intoxicating alcohol or drugs).|
|How Long is the License Valid?||60 days.|
|Same Sex Marriage||No.|
|Fees||The fee may vary depending upon the county.|
|Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?||
The governor, former Supreme Court justice, current Arkansas judge of a court of record or district court or former judge of a court of record or district court who served at least 4 years, regularly ordained minister or priest of any religious sect or denomination, mayor of any city or town, or any official appointed for purpose of solemnizing marriages by the county court.
Marriages between persons who are members of the Quakers, which have no ordained minister, may be solemnized per the assembly's practices.
|Waiting Period||5 days for those marrying at age 17.|
Arkansas Marriage License Requirements: Related Resources
Determining what is required for a marriage license can be confusing. If you want legal assistance with a marriage issue, you can contact an Arkansas family law attorney. You can also visit Findlaw's Marriage Law Overview, Can Prenuptial Agreements Help You?, Tips for Marriage and Marriage FAQs for more articles and information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.