Arkansas Protective Orders Laws
Note: If you or someone you know is the victim of domestic violence, call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233), check with your local Arkansas shelter, or call your local police department.
Courts issue protective orders -- also called orders of protection or restraining orders -- on behalf of individuals with reason to believe another individual is a threat to their safety. The person named in the order typically must stay a certain distance away from the individual obtaining it, while refraining from all other types of contact. Protective orders may be issued for many reasons, but usually are granted to protect the victims of domestic violence or stalking, or when a noncustodial parent interferes with child custody. While restraining orders also may be used to protect celebrities from overly-obsessive fans, these are much less common occurrences.
General Overview of Arkansas Protective Orders Law
If you are the victim of domestic abuse or have some other valid reason for obtaining a restraining order, you can access an online interview session and receive the necessary instructions and paperwork through LawHelp Interactive . Restraining orders in Arkansas last between 30 days and two years, but may be renewed as needed.
Additional provisions of Arkansas's protective orders statute are listed in the following chart.
|Code Section||9-15-201, et. al seq.|
|Activity Addressed by Order||Exclude from dwelling, place of business or employment, school; award temporary support and custody; establish visitation; enforce costs; prevent direct or indirect contact|
|Duration of Order||Minimum 90 days, maximum 2yrs.; may be renewed. Temporary order: maximum 30 days|
|Penalty for a Violation of Order||Class A misdemeanor: maximum penalty 1 year imprisonment in county jail or maximum fine of $1,000 or both|
|Who May Apply for Order||Family or household member or on behalf of a family or household member who is a minor or adjudicated incompetent|
|Can Fees Be Waived?||Yes|
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement||Copy issued to law enforcement officer with jurisdiction to accompany petitioner in possession of dwelling or otherwise assist in service of order|
|Civil Liability for Violation of Order||Civil contempt|
Note: State laws may change at any time, usually through the enactment of new statutes but occasionally through the issuance of higher court opinioins or other means. You may want to contact an Arkansas criminal defense attorney or family law attorney, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Arkansas Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Arkansas Protective Order Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.