Connecticut Manslaughter Laws
Many states divide the crime of manslaughter between voluntary and involuntary manslaughter laws, but Connecticut manslaughter laws and its penalties are divided based upon things such as the degree of violence used and whether the killing was reckless or negligent. For example, if the defendant was intending to seriously injure the victim and ending up killing the victim, it would be deemed first-degree manslaughter which is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines.
However, if the death was caused by the driver of a motor vehicle who was simply acting negligently, then the driver may be punished by up to 1 year in prison and up to $2,000 in fines. The following is a brief summary of Connecticut manslaughter laws.
Connecticut Manslaughter Laws:
The following table outlines manslaughter laws in Connecticut.
|Code Sections||CONN. GEN. STAT. §§ 55a-55 et seq.|
First-degree manslaughter: Acting with intent to cause serious physical injury, or committing murder under the influence of extreme emotional disturbance or acting recklessly under circumstances showing extreme indifference to human life
Second-degree manslaughter: Recklessly causing the death of another person or intentionally causing or aiding another person to commit suicide (unless by force, duress, or deception which is murder)
First- or second-degree manslaughter with a firearm: First or second degree manslaughter and the person is armed with and threatens use of a firearm or represents that he has a firearm by his or her speech or actions
Second-degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle: Causing the death of another person with a motor vehicle as a result of being under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
Misconduct with a motor vehicle: Causing the death of another person with a motor vehicle while acting with criminal negligence
Criminally negligent homicide: Causing the death of another person with criminal negligence
First-degree manslaughter and first-degree manslaughter with a firearm are Class B felonies punishable by up to 20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines. You cannot be found guilty of both crimes for the same incident. If committed with or while threatening use of a firearm, at least 5 years of the sentence must be served.
Second-degree manslaughter and second-degree manslaughter with a firearm or motor vehicle are Class C felonies punishable by up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. You cannot be found guilty of both, second degree manslaughter and manslaughter with a firearm for the same incident.
If second-degree manslaughter is committed with or while threatening use of a firearm, at least one year of the sentence must be served. If committed with a motor vehicle, the person's license will be suspended and once the license is reinstated, the person must drive for 2 years with an approved interlock device which requires the driver to give a breath sample before the car can start.
Misconduct with a motor vehicle is a Class D felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Criminally negligent homicide is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $2,000 in fines.
Connecticut Manslaughter Laws: Related Resources
If you find yourself facing a manslaughter charge and would like help, you may contact a Connecticut criminal defense attorney. You can also visit FindLaw's sections on Involuntary Manslaughter Overview, Involuntary Manslaughter Penalties and Sentencing, Voluntary Manslaughter Overview, and Voluntary Manslaughter Penalties and Sentencing for more articles and information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.