Connecticut Protective Orders Laws
Protective orders, commonly known as "restraining orders," are intended to protect victims of abuse, stalking, or harassment by requiring perpetrators to stay a certain distance away for a specified period of time. Such orders are primarily used by victims of domestic violence, but may apply in other circumstances. Connecticut protective orders are valid for six months and may be renewed. A violation of the terms of a protective order can lead to prosecution punishable by fines and jail time.
All 50 states and the District of Columbia have statutes for some form of protection order. However, states call this protection order different things. A victim can renew the protection order, if he or she still feels threatened by his or her abuser. A protection order may include many different provisions, including:
- Firearms Provision: Requiring the abuser to surrender any guns he or she possesses (about 2/3rds of states) and/or prohibiting the abuser from purchasing a firearm
- Counseling Provision: Ordering the abuser to attend counseling, such as batterer's intervention or anger management
- Peaceful Contact Provision: Permitting the abuser to peacefully communicate with the victim for limited reasons, including care and transfer for visitation of their child
- Move Out Provision: Requiring the abuser to move out of a home shared with the victim
Learn about Connecticut's protective order laws in the chart below. You can also see Details on State Protective Order Laws and the links following this article for more details.
|Code Section||46b-15, et seq.|
|Activity Addressed by Order||Regarding minor children: temporary custody, visitation; enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling of family or of applicant; threatening, harassing assaulting, molesting sexual assault|
|Duration of Order||6 months unless extended|
|Penalty for a Violation of Order||Criminal trespass: in 1st degree, for entering or remaining in dwelling. Maximum penalty up to 1 year in jail or up to $2,000 or both|
|Who May Apply for Order||Family or household member subjected to a continuous threat of physical pain or injury; person in a dating relationship who is subjected to continuous threat of physical injury|
|Can Fees Be Waived?||-|
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement||Yes; immediately; appropriate law enforcement agency within 48 hours of issuance if employed in another town|
|Civil Liability for Violation of Order||Contempt of court|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Connecticut family law attorney -- or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
If you are in immediate danger for your safety and need emergency assistance, call 911. Victims who want to know more about their legal rights should reach out to an experienced Connecticut family law attorney.
Research the Law:
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Protective Orders Laws:
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.