Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Search for legal issues
For help near (city, ZIP code or county)
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location

Connecticut Workers' Compensation Laws

When you are not working, you are cheering on the Red Socks or hitting up Toad’s Place. But when you are working, you exemplify the Puritan work ethic. Which is why it might be hard for you to take time off work to recover from an injury. But if you were injured at work, you should know that you may be entitled to benefits under Connecticut workers' compensation laws.

Check out the table and accompanying explanations below for the most important aspects of Connecticut workers' compensation laws.

Filing Time Limits

  • 1 year for accidental injuries (§31-294c)
  • 3 years from the manifestation of the first symptom for occupational disease (§31-294c)

Time Limits on Benefits

  • Waiting period: 3 days (§31-295)
  • Disability must last 7 days before the first 3 days of disability will be compensated (§31-295)

Benefit Amount Caps

  • All subject to state maximums (§31-309):
  • Total incapacity: 75% of the employee's average weekly earnings (§31-307)
  • Partial incapacity: 75% of the difference between wages currently earned and wages employee could earn if not disabled (§31-308)
  • Partial permanent disability: 75% of the difference between wages currently earned and wages employee could earn if not disabled (§31-308a)

Benefits for scars limited (§31-308(c))

Other Limits

  • Mental injuries and heart attacks often covered (§31-275)
  • Employers must transfer employees to suitable work, if such work is available, or face a fine of $500 (§31-313)

Filing Time Limit

For injuries resulting from an accident at work, you have only one year to file a claim. However, if your claim is for an occupational disease, such as mesothelioma, hearing loss, or carpal tunnel syndrome, you have three years from the manifestation of the first symptom for occupational disease.

Covered Injuries

Most injuries and diseases which are caused by an accident during work are covered by workers' compensation, including those suffered by state employees. Additionally, Connecticut is one of the few states wherein you will likely be able to receive benefits if you suffered a heart attack during a routine performance review.

Benefits Available

Depending on the length and severity of disability your injury causes you, you may be entitled to varying amounts of wage replacement compensation as well as job retraining. Additionally, you are entitled to medical care at no cost to you. After receiving initial treatment from the doctor your employer chooses, you may visit the doctor of your choice, so long as that doctor is a provider in the State Workers’ and Connecticut Compensation Managed Medical Care Program network, unless it is an emergency or you obtain approval beforehand. Be aware that benefits for scars are only available for scars on your face, head, neck, or other areas of the body that affect your ability to obtain work or continue to work.

Dispute Resolution

If your claim is denied by your employer, you may request a hearing. You must include both your reason(s) for the requested hearing and any supporting documentation with your hearing request. In Connecticut, there are five types of hearings, though the vast majority of cases are resolved during an informal hearing.

  • Informal
  • Emergency
  • Pre-Formal
  • Formal
  • CRB Appeal

Have a Skilled Attorney Review Your Workers' Compensation Claim

If carpal tunnel syndrome is preventing you from enjoying racquet sports or if you believe your insurer miscalculated your average weekly earnings, you may wish to speak to an attorney about your legal rights. A Connecticut injury law attorney can equip you with the tools you need to help you recover from your injury.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Find a Lawyer

More Options