Idaho Indecent Exposure Laws
Daring a friend to strip down bare and to run across a busy square of people can seem like a fun way to spice up a rather boring weekend. While embarrassing your friend in a public setting may produce a lifetime of chuckles between you and your buddies, the repercussions of this act can affect all of you equally.
Idaho indecent exposure laws not only make it illegal to expose your genitals in any public place, but it also punishes those that encourage the streaker to do this act. This is a quick summary of the indecent exposure laws in Idaho.
Increased Penalties Under Idaho Indecent Exposure Laws
Idaho indecent exposure laws punishes first time offenders with a misdemeanor. However, repeat offenders of this crime may find a felony attached to their name if they are not careful. First timers and repeat offenders can face possible jail time and a decent hit to their pocketbooks. The following table outlines the specifics of Idaho indecent exposure laws.
Idaho Statues §18-4116: Indecent Exposure
Under Idaho indecent exposure laws, any person is guilty of this crime if he or she willfully and lewdly:
Idaho indecent exposure laws proclaim that any person that violates this law is guilty of a misdemeanor. This is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail up to six months, by a fine up to $1,000, or by both.
In addition, any person who pleads guilty to or is found guilty of this law in Idaho or a similar statute in another state or any local jurisdiction for a second time within five years is guilty of a felony and will be imprisoned for a period not to exceed 10 years.
Exposing yourself to others in public is a crime in the Gem State. If you have been convicted of lewd, indecent, or obscene acts and would like additional legal assistance, you can contact an Idaho criminal defense lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on indecent exposure and criminal charges for more articles and information on this topic.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.