Illinois Disorderly Conduct Laws
Disorderly conduct laws focus on public safety. In Illinois disorderly conduct law prohibits disturbing the peace or engaging in unreasonable conduct that alarms or disturbs others. For example, someone might disturb the peace by yelling or arguing in a public place.
Besides prohibiting disorderly conduct, the state also makes illegal other specific acts because those acts could waste public resources or unnecessarily cause public fear or stress. Accordingly, Illinois state laws include several other types of acts that qualify as disorderly conduct:
- making a false report of a fire or fire alarm
- making a false report of a bomb or explosive device
- making a false report of a crime in progress or a past crime, or requesting emergency response services while knowing that assistance is unnecessary
- making a false report about an abused or neglected child
- making a false report to the Department of Public Health
- entering another person's property to look into a dwelling for a lewd or otherwise unlawful purpose
- using harassment or intimidation as a debt collector or collection agent
Illinois Disorderly Conduct Laws in Brief
Specific details about disorderly conduct laws in Illinois, including charges and penalties, are listed in the following table.
720 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. § 26-1 et. seq.
Sentences and Penalties
Illinois state laws determine the penalty for a conviction of disorderly conduct based on the type of charge.
Misdemeanor charge can result in a sentence of imprisonment for up to 30 days, six months, or one year, depending on whether the state charges the offense as a Class C, Class B, or Class A misdemeanor. The state may also impose a fine in a maximum amount between $1,500 and $2,500.
Disorderly conduct charged as a felony may result in an increased punishment. A Class 4 felony may result in a term of imprisonment for one to three years, while a Class 3 felony can lead to a sentence of two to five years. For a Class 3 felony, the Illinois disorderly conduct laws specifically require a fine in an amount between $3,000 and $10,000.
For each sentence, state law requires an additional penalty of 30 to 120 hours of community service if available in the local area.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
Illinois Disorderly Conduct Laws: Related Resources
Get Legal Help With Your Disorderly Conduct Charges
While being charged with disorderly conduct may not seem like a big deal to you, it will still appear on your criminal record if you plead guilty or are convicted. You may be able to mount a defense, but how will you know unless you research? The best way is to get help from an experienced Illinois criminal defense attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.