Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Search for legal issues
For help near (city, ZIP code or county)
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location

Indiana Marriage Age Requirement Laws

Can anyone get married in the state of Indiana? Anyone over 18 can, yes. But what about minors? Is it ever permissible for people under 18 to get married? State law can vary on this issue, so this article is a quick summary of the marriage age requirements in Indiana.

State Marriage Age Laws

Partners who reach the age of majority (18 and above in most states) may marry with relatively few restrictions. However, state marriage age requirement laws apply to minors. Some state age limit laws will allow partners with a child (or expecting a child) to get married, but a greater number of states are cracking down on child marriages in effort to prevent young people -- mainly young women -- from being explored and abused. Marriage age requirement laws in Indiana only allow 16- and 17-year-olds to get married with approval from a juvenile court judge, but to someone no more than four years older.

Marriage Age Statutes in Indiana

The following box includes the code section and highlights of Indiana's marriage age requirements.

Code Section

31-11-1-4 to 31-11-1-6

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

-

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

18

Comments

Minors ages 16-17 may get married with approval from a juvenile court judge, but to someone no more than four years older. Marriage counselling is also required, as is a minimum 15 day waiting period.

Marriage Requirements

Be aware that your fairy tale wedding might never become a reality if you don’t take care of a few technical marriage requirements and get an actual marriage license. Indiana residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which one of you resides while out-of-state residents can apply in the county where the marriage will take place. Each of you must provide photo identification, a certified copy of your birth certificate, as well as your parents’ names and the counties in which they were born.

If either of you were previously married you must provide the date of the divorce (be aware that some counties will require a copy of the divorce decree). The fee is $18, if one of you is an Indiana resident, $60 for out-of-state residents, and $2 for each copy of the marriage certificate. It is best to check with your local county clerk, as some counties require the fees to be paid in cash.

Indiana Marriage Age Requirement Laws: Related Resources

Indiana’s marriage statutes may differ from other state laws on marriage and are subject to change. If you would like more legal assistance, you can contact an Indiana family law attorney in your area. You can also visit FindLaw's section on Getting Married for additional articles and resources.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Find a Lawyer

More Options