Over time, we've seen an increase in the incidence of credit and debit card fraud as people and businesses grow more and more accustomed to digital payment options. Fortunately, the Sunflower State has statutes which protect consumers from these types of crimes. The following is a summary of Kansas credit and debit card fraud laws.
Kansas Credit and Debit Card Fraud Laws
The following table outlines credit and debit card fraud laws in Kansas.
|What is Prohibited?||
Credit and debit card fraud (a.k.a. criminal use of a financial card):
Intentionally defrauding a person or business in order to obtain money, goods, property or services by doing any of the following:
A "financial" card is an identification card, plate, instrument, device or number which allows a person to conduct financial transactions.
Credit or debit card fraud is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines to if the money, goods, property, or services obtained within a 7-day period was less than $1,000.
It is a felony punishable by up to 9 months in prison and up to $100,00 in fines if the value was at least $1,000 but less than $25,000. It is a felony punishable by up to 17 months in prison and up to $100,000 in fines if the value was $25,000 or more.
Kansas uses a grid system to determine some prison sentences. The above prison times can vary depending upon a person's prior criminal history and the number and type of prior convictions.
Prevention of Credit and Debit Card Fraud
Helpful tips to prevent credit and debit card fraud:
Kansas Credit and Debit Card Fraud Laws: Related Resources
If you think you may be a victim of fraud, you should file a report with the Kansas Attorney General. If you've been charged with a fraud crime or would like legal assistance with a fraud matter, you can contact a Kansas criminal defense attorney . You can also visit FindLaw’s Are you Liable for Unauthorized Credit Card Charges for more information on this topic.
Contact a qualified attorney.