Kansas Marriage Age Requirements Laws
Many people begin dreaming of marriage when they’re young. And if you’re one of them, you may have wondered just how old you have to be in order to get married. For any Sunflower State marriage to be legal, both parties must meet minimum age requirements first, which can vary from depending on whether you have your parents’ permission to get hitched. Here is an overview of the marriage age requirements in Kansas.
State Marriage Age Laws
State marriage age requirements can vary from state to state, but most place, like Kansas, place the minimum age to get married without parental consent at 18 years old. Kansas does allow minors to marry with their parents’ permission, although the statutes don’t specify a minimum age in those circumstances.
Marriage Age Statutes in Kansas
The details of Kansas’s marriage age statutes are listed below.
Kansas Statutes 23-2505: Issuance of Marriage License
Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent
Male: not specified; Female: not specified
Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent
Male: 18; Female: 18
No statutory provision for minimum age with consent. Common law prevails. See State v. Wade, 766 P. 2d 811 at 815.
In addition to age restrictions, there are other legal hurdles couples must clear in order to have a valid marriage. Engaged couples must also meet the technical marriage requirements and get a certified marriage license. Each marriage license application requires the following information:
- Applicants’ Information:
- Full name (First, Middle and Last)
- Residence (City, county and state)
- Birthplace (State or foreign country)
- Date of birth
- Number of this marriage (1st, 2nd, etc)
- If previously married, how last marriage ended and when
- Social Security Number
- Highest level of education completed
- Applicants' parents information:
- Both fathers' full name (First, Middle and Last)
- Both mothers' full name (First, Middle and Maiden)
- All birthplaces
- Other information:
- If either applicant is under eighteen (18), the name of parent or consenting guardian.
- Name and address of person performing ceremony, if known.
- Requested name change information, if applicable
While Kansas has no residency requirement for marriage licenses, there is a state-wide, mandatory 3-day waiting period after you file your application before you can receive the actual marriage license. The fees for a marriage license fees can vary by county, so contact your local county clerk for details and any additional requirements.
More Resources for Kansas Marriage Age Requirements Laws
State marriage laws can vary. You can visit FindLaw's section on Getting Married for additional articles and information on this topic. You can also consult with a Kansas family law attorney in your area if you would like legal assistance regarding a marriage matter.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.