Kentucky Criminal Statute of Limitations Laws
A statute of limitations is a law that prohibits the district attorney or prosecutor from charging you with a crime that was committed longer ago than the statute allows. In most states, misdemeanors have shorter time limits than felonies and at least some felonies, such as murder or sex crimes against children, have no time limit.
Kentucky's time limits are quite simple. Essentially, felonies have no limit and misdemeanors have a one-year limit. For more details, see the table below that outlines the criminal statute of limitations in Kentucky.
|Topic||Criminal statute of limitations|
|Definition||A statute of limitations tells you the time frame when the prosecution must bring a charge for a crime.|
|Code Sections||Kentucky Revised Statutes section 500.050|
|Felonies||There is no time limit for any felony.|
|Misdemeanors||Cases for misdemeanors must be started within 1 year.|
|Crimes in Which a Child Is a Victim||If the victim of a misdemeanor sexual offense (under Kentucky Revised Statutes section 510.010 et seq.) is a minor at the time of the crime, the case must start within 5 years of the victim's 18th birthday.|
|Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run||n/a|
Note: Because state laws change regularly, it's important to verify the laws you're researching by conducting your own legal research or contacting a knowledgeable Kentucky defense attorney.
Research the Law
- Kentucky Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and D.C.
Need More Help? Find a Kentucky Defense Attorney
If you're concerned about prosecution for a crime you've committed, you may wish to consult with an experienced Kentucky criminal defense attorney. Lawyers have ethical guidelines that prohibit them from sharing their clients' secrets. In addition, the attorney-client privilege applies so your lawyer or former lawyer can't testify against you unless it's to rebut your claim of his or her ethical wrongdoing or a fee-related dispute (such as to prove the number of hours he or she worked on your case when you refuse to pay based on failure to work on your case).
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.