What to Do After a Truck Accident in Kentucky
With the variety of freight that they carry, commercial trucks can sometimes leave interesting debris on the roadside, from bags of money to cases of beer. However, only Kentucky can lay claim to a truck accident covering Buttermilk Pike with maple syrup.
In all seriousness, truck accidents can be devastating and forever impact the lives of you and your loved ones. Kentucky's roads are not immune to the dangers. In fact, due partly to high Kentucky truck accident rates, the Federal Department of Transportation has sought to ban trucks from using Kentucky Route 151 altogether.
While truck accidents tend to be more severe than regular car accidents, they can also often involve greater opportunities for you to recover for your losses. However, to utilize these opportunities, it's important to understand what to do after a truck accident in Kentucky and what its laws require.
Responsibilities at the Scene of a Kentucky Truck Accident
As with most states, Kentucky requires motorists involved in an accident to stop and exchange information and, where possible, to move their vehicles away from traffic. However, where an accident involves fatalities, injuries, or hazardous materials, the vehicles can't be moved until all medical assistance and site investigations have been completed. Kentucky truck accidents can often involve injuries or hazardous materials so, when possible, it may be best to wait until law enforcement arrives before moving any vehicles from the roadway.
Drivers involved in a Kentucky truck accident are also required to provide "reasonable assistance" to others injured in an accident. This includes an obligation to assist with their transportation to medical providers, if required.
Finally, motorists are required to notify law enforcement of any accidents involving:
- Known or visible injuries; or
- Vehicles rendered inoperable.
If no law enforcement investigation is performed after a Kentucky truck accident involving injuries or fatalities or property damage of $500 or more, then drivers are also required to file a written accident report. The report must be submitted to the Department of Kentucky State Police within 10 days of the accident.
Kentucky Truck Accident Laws at a Glance
There are important steps to take after any accident, but you can learn more about the specific laws that apply in Kentucky by consulting the chart below.
Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 189.580 (motorist duties after an accident)
Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 189.635 (vehicle accident report requirements)
Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 189.670 (public policy noting safety hazard of heavy motor trucks)
Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 413.125 (statute of limitations for property damage)
Kentucky Revised Statutes Section 413.140 (statute of limitations for personal injuries)
|Statute of Limitations||
Personal Injury: One year from the date the cause of action accrued (the date of the accident).
Property Damage: Two years from the date the cause of action accrued (the date of the accident).
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Kentucky Truck Accident Laws: Related Resources
- Truck Accidents
- Kentucky Car Accident Compensation Laws
- Kentucky Car Accident Settlement Process and Timeline
Learn More About What to Do After a Truck Accident in Kentucky: Talk to a Lawyer
If you've been involved in a truck accident in Kentucky, you may have rights to recover money for your losses. Contact an experienced car accident attorney in Kentucky today to learn more about your rights as well as the next steps to take.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.