Louisiana Car Accident Report Basics
If you've gotten into a car accident in the Bayou State, you may be wondering if you need to file a car accident report. Under Louisiana law, you are required to file a report with the local police station if the accident results in injury, death, or property damage over $500. Furthermore, if the accident results in injury, death or property damage over $100, a written report of the accident must be forwarded to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC). If you do not forward such a written accident report to the DPSC within 24 hours of the accident, then you may be fined up to $100 or imprisoned for up to 60 days.
Louisiana Car Accident Report Overview
The table below covers steps for how to file a car crash report in Louisiana and when you are required to report.
Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 32 § 398
When to Report:
You must file an accident report to the local police station if the accident results in any of the following:
You must also forward a written accident report to the Louisiana DPSC within 24 hours of an accident if the accident results in any of the below:
How to File a Car Crash Report in Louisiana:
If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, you must file an accident report with a local police station and forward that report to the Louisiana DPSC within 24 hours of the accident. The report must contain at the very least:
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Searching for Accident Reports Online
After you file an accident report with the local authorities, you can look up your report online based on the first and last names of the driver/pedestrian involved, in which Louisiana parish the accident occurred, and the date of the accident occurred on as well.
The Louisiana DPSC may require a driver of a vehicle involved in an accident who has previously filed an accident report to provide a supplemental report when the original report is considered insufficient. This may require witnesses of an accident for rendering reports.
Research the Law
- Official State Codes
- Louisiana State Laws
- Louisiana Statutes on Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation
- Louisiana Traffic Laws
- State Traffic Laws
Have a Louisiana Car Accident Claim? Talk to an Attorney Today
Most injuries and claims for automobile damage can be handled through the insurance companies, but additional legal processes may sometimes be necessary if you're not being offered an adequate settlement. Learn more about your car accident claim by contacting a Louisiana car accident lawyer in youre area.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.