Louisiana Legal Ages Laws
With a thriving Mardi Gras culture and 24-hour partying in the French Quarter, it is important to know the legal age requirements in a state like Louisiana. When it comes to the legal system, the line is generally pretty clear when separating minors from adults. With that in mind, here is a brief breakdown of legal age requirements in the state.
Age of Majority in Louisiana
The age at which an individual is considered an adult in the eyes of the law, or the "age of majority," is 18 in most states, including Louisiana. For those under the age of 18, legal age laws dictate certain rights and responsibilities of minors.
Louisiana Age Statutes
The basics of Louisiana legal ages laws are highlighted in the following chart.
|Age of Majority||Louisiana Civil Code Tit. I, Art. 29|
|Eligibility for Emancipation||Through authentic act by parent at age 15 (Louisiana Civil Code Tit. VIII, Art.368); Through judicial consent at age 16 (Louisiana Civil CodeTit. VIII, Art. 366); marriage (Louisiana Civil Code Tit. VIII, Art. 367)|
|Contracts by Minors||Contracts by minors are voidable (Louisiana Civil Code Tit. IV, Art. 1923)|
|Minors' Ability to Sue||Through tutor or parent (Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Tit. III, Art. 683)|
|Minors' Consent to Medical Treatment||May consent without parental consent (Louisiana Revised Statutes Tit. 40 §10791 )|
Age limits for marrying and other legal acts can change from state to state. Generally, the differences in age laws reflect varying community and societal values regarding a minor's level of responsibility and decision-making. For instance, while a 14-year-old in Louisiana may be old enough to sue another party in court, he or she may not be allowed to vote until age 18 or drink until 21.
Legal Responsibilities of Minors and Parents
There is a legal process by which a minor can become an adult in the eyes of the law, referred to as the emancipation of a minor. While Louisiana sets the standard age of majority at 18, emancipation can allow for a minor to be responsible for his or her own wellbeing and make all of his or her own decisions regarding school, healthcare, and other matters. Until they are emancipated or turn 18, juveniles normally will be treated as such in criminal cases, including age and status offenses.
Minors' Consent to Medical Treatment
In Louisiana a minor can consent to their own medical treatment without informing their parents. The medical treatment includes care for pregnancy and childbirth, as well as care for sexually transmitted infections; there are special rules regarding abortion and sterilization.
Get Professional Legal Help from a Louisiana Family Law Attorney
Louisiana's legal age laws are designed to provide guidelines for the behavior of minors in the state. Are you under 18 and interested in getting married or emancipated? If you're a minor who needs to know more information about how the legal ages laws impacts your life, then you should contact an experienced attorney who can help you understand your rights or can assist with the emancipation process. Get legal professional help from a Louisiana family law attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.