Massachusetts Car Accident Report Basics

If you're driving along the streets of Boston or on the Mass Turnpike and get into a car accident, you may be wondering whether or not you have to file a report. Under Massachusetts law, you must report an accident to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) if the accident results in injury, death, or property damage in excess of $1,000. This report must be filed, within five days of the accident, with the Massachusetts RMV regardless of whether a police report has been filed. Failure to meet this deadline could result in the suspension of your driver's license.

Massachusetts Car Accident Report Overview

The following table covers the basics of Massachusetts car accident reporting, including instructions on how to file a car crash report in the Bay State.

State Statutes

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 ยง 26

When to Report:

You must report an automobile accident to the Massachusetts RMV, even if a police officer has already filed a report, if any of the following occur:

  • Death
  • Injury
  • Property damage exceeding $1,000

How to File a Car Crash Report in Washington:

If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, you must file a Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report with the Massachusetts RMV and also the local police department in the city or town where the accident occurred no later than five days after the accident. One copy must also be mailed to your insurance agency. Your report must include:

  • Your name, address and driver's license number
  • Your vehicle registration number and information about the vehicle
  • Names and addresses of any non-motorists involved in the accident
  • Detailed and current information regarding your insurance coverage
  • A detailed explanation of what happened during the accident
  • Any weather, light or road conditions during the accident
  • Details about the accident in a car crash diagram
  • Names and addresses of witnesses who saw the accident but weren't involved

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Exchanging Information

Under Massachusetts law, you are required to exchange at least (1) name, address and contact details, (2) driver license numbers, (3) license plate numbers and (4) auto insurance information with any motorists involved in the accident. If you hit an unattended vehicle, you should also make an effort to find the owner or driver, and exchange the same information mentioned above. If you are unable to locate the owner of an unattended vehicle, you should leave a note listing your name and contact information, and a brief description of the accident.

Do Not Leave the Scene of the Accident

If you leave the scene of the accident, you may have your driving privileges revoked or your driver's license suspended. Also, you should be present after an accident in order to administer aid to anybody who may be injured.

Research the Law

Get a Free Review of Your Massachusetts Car Accident Claim

Still confused on how to file a car crash report in Massachusetts or have questions on Massachusetts car accident report basics? In that case, you can reach out to a Massachusetts attorney and have a free case review at no obligation right away.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.