Massachusetts is a very unusual state when it comes to handling the crimes of disorderly conduct (disturbing the peace), indecent exposure, and prostitution. Most states separate these crimes into their own individual laws. Not the Commonwealth. All crimes are penalized under one specific statute. Let's explore each one in a little more depth.
What is a Disorderly Person in Massachusetts?
Under Massachusetts state law, disorderly conduct is considered a "disturbance of the peace" offense and can arise out of several different situations and circumstances. Specifically, the law prohibits being a disorderly person.
You are considered a disorderly person if you:
What is Indecent Exposure in Massachusetts?
Although the law itself does not define “indecent exposure,” the Massachusetts courts describe it as “an intentional act of lewd exposure, offensive to one or more persons.” Examples of indecent exposure might include public urination, various types of nudity, and more minor public sexual acts. The acts can occur in public or private -- the location doesn't matter, merely the conduct.
Remember, an individual’s genitals must be intentionally exposed in order to be charged with this crime. Additionally, if your conduct is considered aggravated, you may be charged with a more serious crime of "Open and Gross Lewdness."
What is Prostitution in Massachusetts?
Essentially, Massachusetts law defines prostitution as engaging in sexual conduct for a fee. This includes actually engaging, agreeing to engage, or simply offering to engage in sexual activity with another person for a fee. An offer of sex for sale must occur for anyone to be prosecuted, although sexual conduct doesn't need to actually happen. It is also a crime under this law to keep a house of prostitution. There are additionally crimes related to soliciting a prostitute under a separate law.
The following table highlights the main provisions of Massachusetts disorderly conduct laws. See Disturbing the Peace, Public Intoxication, Public Safety Violations, and Sex Crimes for more information.
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 272, Section 53
|What is Prohibited?||
Disorderly Persons: (See Above)
Any person who:
(1) Exposes his or her genitals to one or more persons
Any person who:
1) engages, agrees to engage, or offers to engage
Misdemeanor, maximum penalty of up to 6 months in jail and $200 in fines. Sentence can be elevated for repeat offenders or elevated sex crimes.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Facing Disorderly Conduct, Prostitution or Indecent Exposure Charges? Get an Attorney's Help
Massachusetts criminal laws can sometimes get complicated, especially compared to jurisdictions that make distinctions between these separate and very different offenses. Because of this, it may be a good idea to consult an experienced criminal defense attorney if you have questions about your specific situation.
Contact a qualified attorney.