Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Search for legal issues
For help near (city, ZIP code or county)
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location

What to Do After a Truck Accident in Massachusetts

Accidents that involve large trucks can result in significant damage—both to your car and yourself. To better protect drivers on the road, there are federal and state laws in place that regulate large trucks. Read on to learn about what to do after a truck accident in Massachusetts as well as some information about the state's commercial trucking regulations.

Actions to Take at the Scene of a Truck Accident

Under Massachusetts law, drivers are required to exchange the following information with each other after an accident:

  • Name, address, and contact details;
  • Driver's license numbers;
  • License plate numbers; and
  • Auto insurance information.

When a commercial truck is involved, it's best to also take note of the truck's USDOT number and the company the truck is working for.

Regulation of Commercial Trucking

In Massachusetts, there are regulations that apply to trucks with certain characteristics. For example, a law requires intrastate motor carriers to obtain and display a United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) number. This applies to trucks that are designed to transport more than 15 passengers (including the driver), trucks transporting hazardous materials, and trucks engaged in intrastate commerce that weigh 10,001 pounds or more.

Overview of What to Do After a Truck Accident in Massachusetts

When you have a legal question, the primary source of information is the text of the law. Unfortunately, laws are usually written in outdated legal jargon. For this reason, it's helpful to read an overview of the law in plain English. In the following chart, you can find a brief overview of laws relating to what to do after a truck accident in Massachusetts as well as links to relevant statutes.

Statute(s)

Massachusetts General Laws, Part I, Title XIV, Chapter 90, Section 19, et seq.

State Reporting Requirements for Accidents

A truck accident must be reported to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) if it resulted in:

  • $1,000 or more of property damage; or
  • A person's death or injuries.
Time Limits for Filing Your Lawsuit

After a truck accident, a lawsuit must be filed within the statute of limitations provided by law. In Massachusetts, the time limit for filing a lawsuit is 3 years whether the claim is for personal injuries, property damage, or wrongful death.

Related Statute(s)

Massachusetts General Laws, Part III, Title II. Actions and Proceeding Therein (Ch. 223-236)

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

What to Do After a Truck Accident in Massachusetts: Related Resources

If you'd like additional information and resources related to this topic, please visit the links provided below.

Get Professional Legal Help After Your Truck Accident in Massachusetts

A truck accident can result in significant damage to your car and serious injuries to you and any passengers. If you want to learn more about what to do after a truck accident in Massachusetts, it's best to get in touch with a skilled motor vehicle accident attorney near you.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Find a Lawyer

More Options