Michigan Cocaine Laws
Cocaine possession or distribution is prohibited in all states and typically elicits tough sentences upon conviction. Michigan cocaine laws usually charge even simple possession as a felony, but first-time offenders often have the opportunity to strike a plea bargain or enter a rehabilitation program in exchange for probation. As in other states, sale of cocaine to a minor or near school property can result in double penalties.
The following table lists the main provisions of Michigan's cocaine laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section to learn more.
|Code Section||333.7214; 333.7401, et seq.|
|Possession||First offense: possibility for probation (in lieu of prison), and/or drug rehabilitation; otherwise, penalties same as for possession with intent to distribute.
|Sale (Possession with intent to distribute)||(Felony charge) Under 50 g.: Up to 4 yrs. and/or $25,000; 50-450 g.: up to 20 yrs. and $250,000; 450 g - 1 kg.: up to 30 yrs. and $500,000; Over 1 kg.: life imprisonment and up to $1,000,000; sale to minor or near school property: up to double penalties|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult a Michigan drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Michigan Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Michigan Cocaine Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.