Michigan Tenant Rights Laws
Whether you live in the heart of Detroit or out in Crystal Falls, no one likes dealing with the wide array of landlord-tenant issues that can come up during a given rental period. Luckily, Michigan has a number of laws governing the landlord-tenant relationship in addition to federal laws. Read on to learn more about Michigan's tenant rights laws.
Tenant Rights in Michigan: Repairs, Security Deposits, and More
Michigan law protects you against discrimination based on race, age, familial status, and other protected characteristics. And once your tenancy begins, your landlord must keep the unit in reasonable repair so that it remains in a habitable condition. However, you and the landlord can agree to other or more specific repair terms if your lease is for at least one year.
In Michigan, your landlord must give you an inventory checklist at the beginning of the tenancy so that both parties can note damage that exists before the rental term begins. You also have the right to request and receive a copy of the inventory checklist from the previous tenants to see what types of deductions were made from their security deposit. At end of your tenancy, the landlord must provide a list with all the damages they claim you caused, and they have 30 days after you move out to return all or part of deposit. You then have seven days to respond to the notice or forfeit the amount claimed by your landlord.
These and other laws are designed to protect you within the landlord-tenant relationship. Therefore, it's also important to note that your landlord may not retaliate against you by raising the rent or evicting you simply because you requested repairs or complained about code violations.
Overview of Michigan Tenant Rights Laws
The chart below provides a summary of Michigan state laws governing the landlord-tenant relationship, including links to important code sections. Please remember that it's always best to read the actual text of the law for yourself.
Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 554. Landlord and Tenant Relationships, Section 554.601, et seq.
Limit for Security Deposits: No more than one and a half times the amount of monthly rent.
Return of Security Deposit: Must return all or part of* the security deposit within 30 days of the move-out date. Part or all may be used for:
*If any portion of the security deposit is kept by the landlord, they must provide the tenant with an itemized list of damages and estimated cost of repairs.
May not raise rent during lease term (e.g. 1-year lease) unless lease allows; may raise rent upon lease renewal.
Landlord must comply with health and safety laws and keep premises in reasonable repair, except where disrepair was caused by tenant's willful or irresponsible conduct.
The landlord may enter a rental unit without notice in an emergency, and with reasonable notice for certain reasons including:
Ending or Renewing a Tenancy
Landlord must give notice to terminate the tenancy:
*Eviction requires a court order.
Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Michigan Tenant Rights Laws: Related Resources
- Michigan Lease and Rental Agreement Laws
- Michigan Guide for Tenants and Landlords
- U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development in Michigan
- Michigan Fair Housing
Better Understand Michigan Tenant Rights Laws: Talk to a Lawyer
Navigating your way through tenant issues can be a daunting task, especially given the sheer amount of relevant federal, state, and local laws that could apply. But you shouldn't feel helpless in these situations. Get in touch with a local landlord-tenant lawyer today to better understand these laws and to get help asserting your rights.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.