Michigan Theft and Larceny Laws

When an individual takes another person's property, they have committed the crime of larceny. The offenses of theft and larceny are identical property crimes, but some states including Michigan use the term larceny rather than the more commonly used term theft.

Michigan's general larceny statute prohibits the stealing of certain types of property including: money, goods, bank notes, deeds, receipts, public records, and scrap metal. The law also criminalizes larceny conducted by entering or breaking into a motor vehicle or trailer and by removing or taking away certain motor vehicle parts. Larceny offenses are categorized as either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the value amount of the stolen property.

Michigan Theft/Larceny Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of statutes related to Michigan's larceny laws, including links to important code sections.

Statutes

  • Michigan Compiled Laws 750.356 (Larceny)
  • Michigan Compiled Laws 750.356a (Larceny from a trailer, motor vehicle, and motor vehicle parts)

Misdemeanor Larceny

  • If the stolen property has a value of less than $200, the offense is punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days and/or a fine not to exceed $500 or 3x the value of the stolen property, whichever is greater.
  • If the stolen property is valued at $200 or more, but less than $1,000, the offense is punishable by imprisonment of not more than 1 year and/or a fine of not more than $2,000 or 3x the value of the stolen property, whichever is greater.

Felony Larceny

  • If the individual steals property with a value of $200 or more, but less than $20,000 and has 2 or more prior convictions for committing or attempting to commit this offense; or
  • If the individual breaks, tears, or otherwise damages any part of a trailer, motor vehicle, then the offense is punishable by imprisonment up to 5 years and/or a fine of no more than $10,000 or 3x the value of the property stolen, whichever is greater.
  • If the stolen property has a value of $20,000 or more, the offense is punishable by imprisonment of no more than 10 years and/or a fine not to exceed $15,000 or 3x the value of the property stolen, whichever is greater.

Related Offenses

  • Larceny from the person: Michigan Compiled Laws 750.357
  • Larceny at a fire: Michigan Compiled Laws: 750.358
  • Retail fraud: Michigan Compiled Laws 750.356c, 750.356d

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Michigan Theft and Larceny Laws: Related Resources

Talk to a Defense Attorney about Larceny Charges

Because Michigan's larceny offenses can include severe penalties, it's stressful to face the uncertainty of the outcome of your case. If you're facing charges, then it's in your best interests to get guidance from an experienced attorney who can prepare a strategic defense on your behalf. Take control of your case by talking to a Michigan criminal defense attorney today.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.