Minnesota Robbery Laws

Robbery is generally defined as taking someone else's property by using force or the threat of force. The main difference between theft and robbery is that robbery involves an interaction between the offender and victim while theft does not. As a result of this distinction, robbery is punished more severely than theft. It's important to note that many states provide their own specific definition of robbery, and if they don't provide a specific definition, it's safe to assume that they follow the common law definition.

Some states address robbery in a single statute while others have multiple statutes that address different circumstances involved in a robbery. In Minnesota, for example, there are two statutes addressing the crimes of simple robbery and aggravated robbery. These statutes address different circumstances surrounding a robbery, and provide different penalties based on those circumstances.

Minnesota Robbery Laws: An Overview

Statutory language is usually written in a way that takes time to interpret and understand, which is why it can be helpful to have a summary that's easier to digest. In the following chart, you can find a summary of robbery laws in Minnesota and links to relevant statutes.

Statute(s)

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 609. Criminal Code:

Defining the Offense(s)

Simple robbery is defined as taking personal property from the person of another or in their presence by using or by threatening the use of imminent force against the person.

Aggravated robbery is defined separately depending on the following circumstances:

  • First Degree: This covers robberies where the perpetrator is either a) armed with a dangerous weapon*, or b) inflicts bodily harm upon another.
  • Second Degree: This covers robberies where the perpetrator implies the possession of a dangerous weapon.

*This includes any object used or fashioned to lead the victim to reasonably believe that it's a dangerous weapon.

Penalties

Simple robbery is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and/or fines of up to $20,000.

First degree aggravated robbery is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and/or fines of up to $35,000.

Second degree aggravated robbery up to 15 years in prison and/or fines of up to $30,000.

Related Statute(s)

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 609. Criminal Code: Section 609.52 (Theft)

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Minnesota Robbery Laws: Related Resources

If you'd like more information and resources related to this topic, you can visit the links listed below.

Get Legal Help with Your Robbery Case in Minnesota

Prosecutors are known to overcharge cases and with Minnesota's varying degrees of robbery that could result in hefty prison time, you want to make sure you have the best protection on your side. A local criminal defense attorney can make sure you don't get railroaded and can help you present the strongest facts in your defense. Get in touch with one today to learn more.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.