Mississippi Car Accident Settlement Process and Timeline
Mississippi is known for its beautiful hilly landscapes and views. Although the vast majority of Mississippi land is made up of small towns and farmland, accidents can happen anywhere at any time. Imagine you're driving on I-20, and the car behind you crashes into your vehicle. Will your insurance cover all of your damages? What is your deductible? How do you calculate the amount of damages? You should be aware of certain limitations and requirements imposed under Mississippi state law. Read on to learn more about the Mississippi car accident settlement process and timeline.
Do I Need to Report a Car Accident in Mississippi?
Yes, in some cases. You are required to report the accident by the quickest means of communication to the local police department if the collision resulted in the following: (1) injury of a person, (2) death of a person, or (3) total property damage exceeding $500.
Mississippi Car Insurance Laws
Mississippi requires you to purchase liability insurance and carry a card in your vehicle at all times proving that you have liability insurance. In Mississippi, you must maintain the following minimum coverage amounts:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
If you don't meet these requirements, you can face a $1,000 fine and/or license suspension for up to one year.
How Do Car Accident Settlements Work in Mississippi?
Mississippi applies the traditional at-fault system when it comes to car accident cases and insurance claims. If you got injured in a car crash, you have three options: (1) file a claim with your own insurance company, (2) file a claim with the other driver's insurance company, or (3) file a lawsuit. To file a claim with an insurance company, notify the company about the accident as soon as possible. A claims adjuster will examine your case and decide whether to offer a settlement check or deny your claim.
If you believe that your insurance company did not compensate for all parts of your claim, you should first contact them and make an appeal. If you are unable to resolve the dispute, then contact Mississippi Insurance Department and file a complaint to resolve the matter.
What is the Average Car Accident Settlement in Mississippi?
Most car accident cases are resolved with an insurance company or during settlement negotiation. Even if your case doesn't reach all the way to a court trial, there are several types of damages you can recover. Some of the most common types of car accident damages are medical expenses, car repair or replacement, lost wages due to missed work, physical pain, and emotional distress.
In Mississippi, you can recover damages even if you are at fault for your own injuries. Mississippi applies pure comparative negligence standard, which allows you to recover money damages diminished in proportion to the amount of your negligence. Therefore, even if you contributed more fault into the accident, you can still recover damages.
How Long to I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Mississippi?
You have three years to file a lawsuit for both personal injury and property damage. The time starts on the day of the accident. After this deadline, you are barred from filing a lawsuit.
Talk to an Attorney About Your Mississippi Car Accident Settlement
If you got into a car accident in Mississippi, there are several steps to take to receive money damages. While learning the basics of car accident settlement process may be simple, things can easily become complex once someone starts blaming you for the accident. If your case involves shared fault or serious injuries, it's in your best interests to contact an experienced Mississippi accident attorney in your area today
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.