Mississippi Indecent Exposure Laws

The Magnolia State has laws on the books that prohibit public and private indecency. In Mississippi, it's considered indecent exposure if a person willfully and lewdly exposes his or her body or private parts, or gets another person to expose their body or private parts, while in public or in any place where others are present. A place is considered public if the conduct can reasonably be expected to be viewed by others. For example, a restaurant, that is a private place of business is considered a public space when it is open for business.

It is also a crime in Mississippi to willfully and lewdly expose one's body or private parts at another person's private residence, yard, or adjoining land in view of the family, homeowner, or other occupants. This crime is called disturbance by indecent exposure and falls under crimes against public peace and safety. The following is a quick summary of Mississippi indecent exposure laws.

Mississippi Indecent Exposure Laws

The following table outlines indecent exposure laws in Mississippi.

Code Section MISS. CODE ANN. ยงยง 97-29-31, 97-35-11
What is Prohibited?

Indecent exposure :

Willfully and lewdly exposing one's body or private parts in any public place or place where others are present, or procuring another person to do the same.

"Public place" means a place where the conduct can reasonably be expected to be viewed by others.

Disturbance by indecent exposure :

Willfully and lewdly exposing one's body or private parts at another person's private residence, yard, or adjoining land in view of the family, homeowner, or other occupants.

Penalties

Indecent exposure is a misdemeanor for first and second time offenders.

First time offenders are punishable by up to 6 months in prison and up to $500 in fines.

Second time offenders who commit the crime within 5 years of the last offense are punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.

Third time offenders who commit the crime within 5 years of the last offense are guilty of a felony and punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.

Defenses

It is not indecent exposure for a woman to breast-feed in public.

The exposure of one's body or private parts is not lewd (i.e. it is portrayed in a manner that is not sexual, offensive, or crude).

The exposure of one's body or private parts was not intentional.

Mississippi Indecent Exposure Laws: Related Resources

If you have been charged with indecent exposure and need assistance, you may wish to contact a knowledgeable Mississippi sex crimes attorney. You can also read Findlaw's section on Indecent Exposure for more information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.