Mississippi Manslaughter Laws
In Mississippi, causing the death of another person is categorized as manslaughter if the death was unintended, intended but not premeditated, or committed in a manner that is less egregious than murder. For example, it's manslaughter to cause the death of another person due to "culpable negligence" or reckless action (or inaction) which places that person at an unreasonable and foreseeable risk of injury or death. It is also manslaughter to cause the death of another person while committing a misdemeanor or certain lesser violent felonies. The following is a quick summary of Mississippi manslaughter laws.
Mississippi Manslaughter Laws:
The following table outlines manslaughter laws in Mississippi.
|Code Sections||MISS. CODE ANN. § 97-3-25 et seq.|
Manslaughter is causing the death of another person under any of the following circumstances:
Aiding suicide is willfully advising, encouraging, or assisting a suicide
Manslaughter is a felony punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail, 2-20 years in the penitentiary, and at least $500 in fines.
Aiding suicide is a felony punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail, up to 10 years in the penitentiary, and up to $1,000 in fines.
Mississippi Manslaughter Laws: Related Resources
Manslaughter laws can be difficult to figure out. If you find yourself facing a manslaughter charge and would like help, you may contact a Mississippi criminal defense attorney. You can also visit Findlaw's sections on Involuntary Manslaughter Overview, Involuntary Manslaughter Penalties and Sentencing, Voluntary Manslaughter Overview, and Voluntary Manslaughter Penalties and Sentencing for more articles and information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.