Mississippi Marijuana Laws
|Code Section||41-29-101, et seq.; 41-29-139|
|Possession||<30 g.: $100-$250; second conviction: $250 and 5-60 days jail; third conviction: $250-$500 and 5 days-6 months jail; 30-250 g.: $1000 and/or 1 yr. jail, or $3000 and/or 3 yrs. prison; 250-500 g.: 2-8 yrs. and up to $50,000; 500 g.-1 kg.: 4-16 yrs. and up to $250,000; 1-5 kg.: 6-24 yrs. and up to $500,000; >5 kg.: 10-30 yrs. and up to $1 million|
|Sale||Under 1 oz.: up to 3 yrs. and/or $3000; First-time offender with over 1 oz. but less than 1 kg.: up to 20 yrs. and/or $30,000; Over 1 oz.: up to 30 yrs. and/or $5,000 to $1,000,000; Subsequent offense: double penalties|
|Trafficking||Anyone over 21 selling 10 lbs. or more of marijuana during any 12 month period shall have life in prison without suspension/parole|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult a Mississippi drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Marijuana Laws:
- Drug Possession Overview
- Drug Trafficking/Distribution
- Drug Manufacturing and Cultivation
- Find a Criminal Law Attorney
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.