Mississippi Overtime Laws
If you are a Mississippi employee and feel that you are working more hours than you are supposed to, then you may be entitled to overtime wages. Mississippi generally follows the federal overtime laws of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) but has specific state provisions regulating overtime pay for firefighters and police officers. Otherwise, employees in Mississippi must be paid 1.5 times their regular pay rate for all time they work over 40 hours in a single work week.
Mississippi Overtime Law Overview
Mississippi overtime law and its important aspects are provided below in the subsequent chart.
State and Federal Statutes
Overtime Calculation Methods:
Exempt from FLSA
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Overtime Pay for Firefighters and Police Officers
As mentioned earlier, Mississippi has a special state law provision that governs overtime pay for firefighters and police officers. Namely, that provision states that the city council has the power to pay its firefighters and police officers additional pay for services and duties rendered above the usual and regular number of days and hours per week or month that they ordinarily work, which is not specified in the statute. However, a police officer or firefighter cannot perform other work unrelated to their jobs during regular working hours.
Holiday Pay and Overtime Pay in Mississippi
When employees are paid for time they do not work on official holidays, they may be entitled to holiday pay. Many Mississippi employers provide holiday pay, which is acceptable under the state's overtime laws, but it does not qualify as overtime pay. For example, if an employee receives five hours of holiday pay on top of pay for 40 hours worked in a single week, that employee will not receive overtime rates (1.5 times the regular rate of pay) for those five extra hours and will be paid for 45 hours of work at their regular rate of pay (although the holiday pay rate may be more than the regular rate, depending on the employer's policy).
Mississippi Overtime Exemptions
Mississippi overtime laws do not apply to several types of employees, including:
- Administrative employees
- Professional employees
- Executive employees
- Agricultural workers
- Migrant workers
Research the Law
- Official State Codes
- Mississippi State Laws
- Mississippi Employment Laws
- State Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws
Learn How Mississippi Overtime Laws Apply to You: Speak with an Attorney
Even though it primarily follows the FLSA, Mississippi may have unique provisions that only apply within state borders, as mentioned above. If you feel you are owed overtime wages in Mississippi, or want to find out more about Mississippi overtime laws, you should get in touch with a qualified employment lawyer near you.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.