Missouri Cocaine Laws
The sale or possession of cocaine is illegal throughout the U.S., carrying stiff penalties upon conviction. State drug laws are notoriously complex and often carry mandatory minimum sentences, which makes it difficult for judges to reduce sentences. While marijuana laws have been loosening in most states, cocaine laws are relatively strict in Missouri and elsewhere.
Missouri cocaine laws charge the sale or possession of any amount of cocaine as a felony. A conviction on charges of simple possession, a Class C felony, can result in a seven-year maximum prison sentence (and a minimum mandatory one-year term). First-time offenders may be eligible for probation if they complete a drug treatment program (see the Missouri Treatment Courts page for more details).
Sale or trafficking of cocaine carries much harsher penalties in Missouri. Sale of cocaine is a Class B felony punishable by five to 15 years in prison, while trafficking or selling near a school is charged as a Class A felony punishable by 10 to 30 years (or even life in some cases).
Repeat offenders -- whether it's for trafficking, sales, or possession -- may face a Class A felony without the chance for probation or parole (§195.295).
The following chart summarizes the basics of Missouri cocaine laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section to learn more.
|Code Section||195.010, et seq.|
|Possession||Class C felony; Subsequent offense: subject to prior & persistent offenders statute §195.295|
|Sale||Class B felony; Subsequent offense: subject to prior & persistent offenders statute §195.295; Distribution to minor under 17 or 2 yrs. junior: Class B felony; Within 2000 ft. of school: Class A felony|
|Trafficking||Trafficking drugs in 1st degree; Delivery associated/attempt to deliver: 150-450 g.: Class A felony: More than 450 g.: Class A felony term without parole; 2-6 g: cocaine base (crack): Class A felony; Over 6 g.: Class A felony, term without parole; Trafficking in 2nd degree: Buying/attempting to buy: 150-450 g.: Class B felony; More than 450 g.: Class A felony; 2-6 g. cocaine base (crack): Class B felony; Over 6 g.: Class A felony|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Missouri drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Missouri Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Missouri Cocaine Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.