Missouri Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements
If you want to get married in Missouri, you have to get a marriage license first. Here's what you need to know and what documents you'll need to apply for a Missouri marriage license.
You and your future spouse both have to go to the Recorder of Deeds at the local county recorder's office. These offices are usually located in or near the county courthouse. Then you have to fill out an application, sign it, show the required identification, and pay the licensing fee. The fee varies by county, but is typically around $46-$51.
Missouri Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements: Overview
There isn't a waiting period to get married in Missouri. You also don't need a physical examination or blood test. The following table highlights the main provisions of Missouri's marriage laws.
Missouri Revised Statutes Section 451.040 (marriage license requirements)
Missouri Revised Statutes Section 451.090 (age requirements)
|Where to Get a Marriage License?||
County Recorder's Office
15 years with parent or guardian permission or 18 years old
Valid identification showing your date of birth (to prove your age) and your Social Security card or a signed statement that you don't have a Social Security number
|Blood Test Requirements||
|Same Sex Marriage||
This was previously banned under the 2004 Constitutional ban and prior law. However, this has changed due to the Supreme Court's holding in Obergefell.
If you've been married before, you'll need to provide the date your last marriage ended either by divorce or death. Bigamous marriages are void in Missouri.
Two witnesses to the marriage ceremony must sign the marriage license.
|How Long is the License Valid?||
The marriage ceremony must occur within 30 days from the date the license is issued. The license must be picked up prior to the marriage ceremony.
|Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?||
Marriages can be solemnized by any clergyman, judge, or religious organization according to its customs, when either partner is a member of that organization. The officiant must complete, sign, and return the marriage license within 15 days after the marriage ceremony.
|Where to Get Marriage Certificate?||
You can get a certified copy of your marriage certificate from the Recorder of Deeds Office where the license was obtained or at the Missouri Health Department's Vital Records Bureau in Jefferson City. Some recorder's offices will permit you to pre-pay when applying for a marriage license for a marriage certificate to be mailed to you when ready.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Related Resources for Missouri Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements
Learn More About Missouri Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements
It may not always be obvious, but there are a number of laws and regulations that apply to the marriage process, both before and after. It's probably the last thing on your wedding planning list (if it's there at all), but speaking with a qualified family law attorney could prove to be quite helpful as you and your spouse plan your future.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.