Montana Divorce Laws
In Montana, the legal name for divorce is "dissolution." The court can give you a dissolution even if your spouse does not want one. In order to file for a divorce or dissolution under Montana's divorce laws, you must meet residency requirements for the court to accept the case. One person must have been a resident of the state, or was stationed in the state while a member of the armed services, and that the domicile or military presence has been maintained for 90 days before filing for divorce.
The biggest difference among state divorce laws is the concept of “fault.” Montana is a "no-fault" divorce state, which means neither spouse needs to prove that the other spouse is the reason for the divorce. Instead, parties may simply cite "irreconcilable differences" or an "irreparable breakdown of the marriage" when filing for divorce.
Specific Divorce Provisions
Even though Montana is a "no-fault" divorce state, there are certain conditions the court must find in order to grant your request.
To grant a divorce or dissolution, the court must determine either that:
- The couple has lived separate and apart for more than 180 consecutive days before the petition for divorce is filed, or
- There is serious marital discord between the spouses and no reasonable prospect of reconciliation.
Is There A Filing Fee?
Yes. The court charges fees to file the petition. The court also charges a fee when the dissolution decree is issued. For more information about the court fees, you should contact your local Clerk of District Court. There may also be costs to serve the petition on your spouse. If you cannot afford to pay the fees and costs, you can ask the judge for a fee waiver.
The following table outlines the basic divorce laws in Montana. See Details on State Requirements for Divorce, Divorce and Out-of-Court Proceedings: Alternative Dispute Resolution, and An Overview of Fault and No-Fault Divorce Law to learn more.
|Code Section||40-4-101 to 136|
One party must be domiciled in Montana for 90 days.
|'No Fault' Grounds for Divorce||
Irretrievable breakdown; separation (180 days) or serious marital discord.
|Defenses to a Divorce Filing||
Abolished by §40-4-105
Note: Montana divorce laws are constantly changing--contact a Montana family law attorney, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Montana Code
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Montana Divorce Laws: Related Resources
Get Professional Help With Your Montana Divorce Today
While going through the process of a divorce is never easy, especially when you have children together, you don't have to handle it alone. Even though Montana is a "no-fault" divorce state, there are still plenty of legal hurdles you may have to handle. Get started on your future today by speaking with a Montana divorce lawyer.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.