Nebraska Divorce Laws
Divorce -- or the dissolution of marriage -- is regulated by state laws. These statutes determine eligibility requirements and procedures for getting a divorce, such as waiting periods and the court process. Every state allows "no-fault" divorce, often cited as "irreconcilable differences" or "marriage irretrievably broken," which means neither party needs to prove the other's fault. However, conditions such as domestic violence or substance abuse also are considered grounds for divorce. Legal separation is often a preliminary requirement before the court will grant a final divorce decree.
Divorce Laws in Nebraska
The Nebraska will not grant a divorce unless one of the parties has lived in the state permanently for at least a year before filing for divorce, while the court imposes a 60-day waiting period after filing. Divorce with no children and no disputed property is the most straightforward, of course, and the Nebraska Supreme Court provides self-help resources for these cases. Nebraska courts will charge a $75 fee when filing for divorce, or $157 including the civil docket fee). If you have been served with a dissolution of marriage complaint, you will want to file an answer to the complaint and probably a counterclaim (Form DC 9:1 and directions for DC 9:1 , no children).
The main provisions of Nebraska divorce laws are listed in the chart below. See FindLaw's Divorce section for a variety of helpful articles and resources.
|Code Section||§§42-341 to 379|
|Residency Requirements||Marriage solemnized in the state and one party resides in-state since marriage or one party has resided in-state (making it a permanent home) for 1 yr. before filing|
|Waiting Period||No suit for divorce heard until 60 days after service of process.|
|Grounds for Divorce||
|Defenses to a Divorce Filing||-|
Note: State laws are always subject to change at any time, usually through the enactment of new legislation or newly decided case law from higher courts. You should contact a Nebraska divorce attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Nebraska Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Nebraska Divorce Laws: Related Resources
- Nebraska Child Custody Laws
- Nebraska Marital Property Laws
- Eligibility for Summary Divorce
- Settlement Agreements and Court Approval
Get Professional Help From a Nebraska Divorce Attorney
Maybe you're thinking about getting a divorce. Or perhaps you're in the beginning stages of filing the paperwork. Wherever you are in the process of splitting up from your spouse, you'll want to know that you're getting everything you're entitled to under Nebraska's divorce laws and that your family is covered. Learn more from a Nebraska divorce lawyer today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.