Nevada Adoption Laws
State laws govern the adoption process and often vary from one another. While adoption is a wonderful choice for parent and child, it sometimes presents challenges when families of adopted children move to other states.
Types of Adoptions in Nevada
Nevada law allows for many different types of adoptions. The most common adoptions are infant adoptions, state and court ward adoptions, relative adoptions, step-parent adoptions, inter-country and interstate adoptions, and adult adoptions.
What Is A State Or Court Ward Adoption?
Adoption of a child whose parent's parental rights have been terminated by the family court and are committed to the state (state wards) or are placed under the care and supervision of the state (court wards). The Nevada Department of Health and Human Services (DHS) is responsible for the adoptive placement of state wards and court wards. These children are placed by DHS and by child-placing agencies under contract with the state.
Most of the children fall into the following groups:
- Minority children;
- Older children;
- Children with physical, emotional or mental impairments;
- Family groups of two or more children.
Nevada Adoption Laws
Under Nevada adoption laws, anyone can be adopted but children 14 years and older may not be adopted unless they give their own consent. Also, state law provides for a six month minimum home residency requirement prior to finalization of adoption.
How Much Does It Cost To Adopt A Child In Nevada?
Adoption costs and fees vary. Some private adoption agencies will require a home assessment fee. Be sure to speak with an adoption attorney or ask the agencies you contact if they have any upfront fees.
Some of the main highlights of Nevada adoption laws are listed in the box below. Explore FindLaw's Adoption section for additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||127, et seq.; No|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person (consent of spouse required for adult persons)|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||14 years and older|
|Who May Adopt||Minor: Any adult who is 10 years older than adoptee. If petitioner is married, spouse must join. Must have resided in state during 6 months preceding adoption. Adult: Any adult may adopt younger adult except spouse.|
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||6 months|
|State Agency/Court||Human Resources, Division of Child and Family Services/District|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||Not specified|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Nevada adoption attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Adoption Laws:
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.