Nevada Car Accident Report Basics

Accidents happen no matter how careful you are, and unfortunately that includes auto accidents. It's not uncommon after a car accident to feel uncertain about what steps to take next, including whether you are obligated to make a report. If you are a resident of the state of Nevada, read on to learn more about how to file a car crash report in Nevada.

When and How to File a Report

Every state has its own laws detailing a motorist's obligations after a car accident, and Nevada is no exception. Whether or not you are legally obligated to file a report after an auto accident depends on whether bodily injury or death occurred, or the extent of the property damage. In some circumstances, you are not legally responsible for making a report if the police responded to the crash and issued a their own report.

However, if you are legally responsible for reporting a car accident and you fail to do so, the consequences are significant. In Nevada, if you fail, refuse, or neglect to report an accident as required by Nevada law, your driving privileges may be suspended for one year or until you properly file the report. Also, if you knowingly give false information in a car accident report, you can be found guilty of a misdemeanor.

The following chart provides more information about filing a car accident report in Nevada.

Statutes

Nevada Revised Statutes Sections 484E.070 and 484E.080

When to Report

  • The driver of a vehicle involved in a crash must report the incident if the crash results if:
    • The bodily injury or death of any person
    • Total damage to any vehicle or item of property to an apparent extent of $750 or more
  • A report is not required to be submitted if the crash was investigated by a police officer and a police report was generated that includes the insurance coverage information for all drivers

How to Report

  • Within 10 days after the crash, a written or electronic report must be forwarded to the Department of Public Safety
  • If damage has occurred to a vehicle, the operator should attach an estimate of repairs or a statement of total loss

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related Car Accident Resources

Get a Free Evaluation of Your Car Accident Case

Car accidents of any magnitude can be overwhelming and exhausting. It can be difficult to know what steps to take first. If you have been injured in a car accident or suffered significant property damage, it might be a good idea for you to speak with a lawyer. FindLaw can help match you with an experienced car accident attorney for your free case evaluation.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.