Nevada Prostitution and Solicitation Laws
Prostitution is illegal nationwide, except for in certain parts of Nevada. Under Nevada's state laws, prostitution and solicitation are legal in counties with less than 400,000 residents. However, local governments also have the power to outlaw prostitution, so just because a county has less than 400,000 residents doesn't necessarily mean that prostitution is legal there. This article provides a brief outline of Nevada's prostitution and solicitation laws.
Illegal Prostitution in Nevada
Throughout large parts of Nevada, including Las Vegas, both prostitution and solicitation are illegal. Therefore, engaging in prostitution, or offering or agreeing to engage in prostitution, is illegal in certain parts of Nevada. The following chart outlines Nevada's main law prohibiting prostitution and solicitation.
|Nevada Revised Statutes section 201.354: Engaging in Prostitution or Solicitation|
|Engaging in prostitution, or the solicitation of prostitution, anywhere in Nevada except in a licensed house of prostitution.|
Prostitution: Engaging in sexual conduct with another person in return for a fee, money, or something else of value.
Sexual conduct: Sexual intercourse, oral-genital contact, or any touching of the sexual organs (or another intimate part) of a person for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either party.
Solicitation of prostitution: Offering or agreeing to engage in prostitution.
Soliciting a child (people under 18 years old) for prostitution is a Class E felony, and is punishable by imprisonment for between one and four years and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
In Nevada it is also illegal to induce, force, or arrange for another person to unlawfully engage in prostitution, or to enter a part of Nevada where prostitution is practiced, encouraged, or allowed, for the purpose of engaging in prostitution. Offenders who violate this law are guilty of pandering. Pandering is a Class C felony and is punishable by imprisonment for between one and five years, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Legal Prostitution (Licensed Brothels) in Nevada
Nevada's state laws make prostitution legal in licensed brothels located in counties with less than 400,000 residents. However, licensed brothels and the prostitutes who work in them must follow certain rules including the following:
- Prostitutes must be at least 18 years old and must be employed by their own free will
- Prostitutes must submit to regular HIV and STD testing
- Prostitutes must use condoms
- Brothels can't be located within 400 yards of a school or a place of worship
- Brothels can't be located on a principal street, and
- Brothels may not advertise in in a public theatre, on a public street or highway, or in any county, city, or town where prostitution is prohibited
- A Guide to Nevada "Prostitution & Solicitation" Laws
- Sex Trafficking in Nevada – section 201.300(2)
- Help for Victims of Human Trafficking
- The National Human Trafficking Resource Center Hotline can be reached at 1-888-373-7888
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Nevada's prostitution and solicitation laws contact a local criminal defense attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.