New Hampshire Car Report Basics

Maybe you were hoping for a peaceful drive to Lake Winnipesaukee, or simply wanted to get to work in Manchester a few minutes early. In either case, a car accident would put a serious damper on your plans. But if you are involved in a car crash, you'll need to know what the law requires of you, both at the scene of the accident and in the days that follow. Read on to learn more about New Hampshire car accident report basics.

New Hampshire Car Accident Report Laws

To avoid criminal charges, it’s important to know what to do after a car accident in New Hampshire. First, you must immediately stop your car and call emergency services if anyone is injured. Then, you must give other drivers, owners of damaged property, and injured people certain information including your name, address, driver's license number, insurance information, vehicle registration number, and the names and addresses of your car's occupants. You should receive all of this information from the other drivers as well. If, for some reason, you can't provide this information to those individuals, you must give it to a responding police officer or to an officer at the nearest police station.

Additionally, any accident that causes injury, death, or damage over $1,000 must be reported to the New Hampshire DMV within 15 days. As anyone who has been involved in a car accident can tell you, even a seemingly minor fender bender can cause over $1,000 worth of damage, so you should assume that a report will need to be filed after most car accidents. Failure to report an accident that causes injury or death is a felony in New Hampshire.

How to File a Car Crash Report in New Hampshire

Accident reports must be submitted in writing to the New Hampshire DMV and can be found online. However, if the police respond to your car accident, they will conduct an investigation and submit the necessary report directly. If they don't respond, you are responsible for filing the report within 15 days. However, you may want to send in your own report regardless, as it can often take law enforcement several weeks to send theirs in, delaying your insurance claim.

New Hampshire Car Accident Report Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of state laws related to New Hampshire car accident reports, including links to key statutes.

Statute

Report Required

  • Must submit written report to New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles if accident involves injury, death, or total property damage to extent of at least $1,000

Report Deadline

  • Within 15 days of the accident

Who Must Report

  • Any police officer who investigates the accident, or any driver or owner of a vehicle involved in the accident
  • If driver is physically or mentally incapable of reporting and is not the owner of the vehicle, the owner or owner's representative must file the report

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

New Hampshire Car Accident Report Basics: Related Resources

Receive a Free Review of Your Car Accident Issues

Whether you're involved in a minor accident or a devastating collision, the financial and legal ramifications can be significant and time-consuming. Receive a free claim evaluation today to ensure you've complied with New Hampshire car accident report laws and to understand your other legal options going forward.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.