New Hampshire Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements
Before a couple can legally get married in New Hampshire, they must have a valid marriage license. The couple can apply for their marriage license at any town clerk's office in the state. The table below outlines New Hampshire's main marriage license requirements.
|New Hampshire Revised Statutes section 457:23: Marriage License Requirements|
|No marriage license will be issued within New Hampshire until the applicants have each provided the following documents for inspection:
Marriage License Fee
|The parties must pay a $45 license fee when they file their marriage license application.|
Marriage in New Hampshire is the legally recognized union of two people. These people can be of the same or of the opposite sex. However, some marriages are prohibited in New Hampshire. For example, no person is permitted to be married to more than one person at any given time, and no person shall marry their:
- Father or mother
- Aunt or uncle
- Son or daughter
- Brother or sister
- Nephew or niece, or
- First cousin
Are Minors Permitted to Marry in New Hampshire?
The age of consent in New Hampshire is 18 years old. Therefore, any marriage entered into by a person below that age may (in the discretion of the court) be annulled by the party who was a minor (or by his or her parent or guardian), unless the party confirmed the marriage after turning 18.
However, in some situations minors may receive permission from the state to get married before their 18th birthday. The minor, along with their parent or guardian, must apply in writing for permission to marry and explain the circumstances that makes the marriage desirable.
Will My Marriage License Expire?
Marriage licenses in New Hampshire are valid for 90 days from the date of filing. If a marriage license expires and the couple still wants to get married in New Hampshire they can simply reapply for a new marriage license.
There isn't a blood test requirement for couples who want to get married in New Hampshire.
- Marriage Law Overview
- Marriage Forms and Resources
- Pros and Cons: Premarital Agreements ("Prenuptials")
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding New Hampshire's marriage license and blood test requirements contact a local family law lawyer.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.