New Jersey Car Accident Report Basics
If you got into a car crash while cruising through the Garden State, you may wonder whether you need to file a report. In New Jersey, automobile accidents must be reported if they cause injury, death, or over $500 in property damage. The accident must also be reported to the local law enforcement authorities. Furthermore, if law enforcement officers are not called to the scene of the accident and property damage is the only result, a letter must be sent to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency within 10 days of the accident. The letter also needs to state the circumstances of the accident and also provide as much information as possible.
New Jersey Car Accident Report Overview
In order to learn how to file a car crash report in New Jersey or other information about New Jersey car accident report basics, please read the following chart.
New Jersey Statutes Chapter 39 (Motor Vehicles & Traffic Regulation) § 4-130
When to Report:
You must report an automobile accident to the New Jersey MVC Agency if any of the below occur:
How to File a Car Crash Report in New Jersey:
To file a written car crash report with the New Jersey MVC, which must be done 10 days after the accident, you, your insurance agent, the owner of the vehicle or your legal representative must draft your own written report and submit it as a letter to the MVC. In the written report, you will need to provide as much information as possible including at least:
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Exceptions to Filing a Written Report
If a law enforcement officer already submitted a written report pursuant to New Jersey law, then a written report of the accident does not need to be sent to local law enforcement authorities or the MVC.
If the Driver Cannot Make the Written Report
If the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident is unable to make a written report and there was another passenger in the vehicle at the time of the accident, then that passenger can and should make the written report on behalf of the driver. Likewise, the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident can make the written report on behalf of the driver if the driver is not able to.
Research the Law
- Official State Codes
- New Jersey State Laws
- New Jersey Motor Vehicle and Traffic Regulations
- New Jersey Traffic Laws
- State Traffic Laws
Consider Getting Legal Help With Your New Jersey Car Accident Claim
As you can see, there are certain guidelines and requirements for reporting an automobile crash in New Jersey. If you have questions or concerns about these requirements or need specific legal help, a lawyer is your best bet. Find an experienced injury law attorney near you today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.